You can customize most settings in-app, but most people prefer to make adjustments online and let the settings automatically sync to the app (WiFi required).

The instructions below can be followed for online and in-app settings, however if you are using the in-app settings the panels we describe will be in a slightly different order!

Start by visiting your list of presets

In the HALO app, you'll see the list of presets when you first sign in.

1. Create a preset for your booth

If you have an existing preset you want to customize, click on the title and skip ahead to step 3.

Use the blue "+" icon in the top right corner to get started. Then give your preset a unique title (participants won't see this) and choose to set up a physical booth.

You can always change the title later if you need!

Click the Gallery button to continue.

2. Set up your gallery's basic settings

Pictures taken with your preset will be sent to the online gallery you choose.

If you want multiple presets to go into the same gallery, you can choose an existing gallery. If you want to reuse branding from a previous gallery but have a new collection of images, choose "Copy Gallery." Then, skip ahead to Step 3.

Use a new gallery (or copy of an old gallery) for each event in order to keep the photos separate. For permanent installs, tours, or other longer activations, consider collecting all of your photos in the same gallery.

The remainder of these settings can be adjusted again later, so we're going to skip over these settings for now. Use the button below to skip ahead to see more detail on the settings available on this page.

Click "create" to save your gallery, and you'll be brought to your preset settings page.

3. Customize your booth

The preset page allows you to control the booth settings and picture customizations. Settings are separated into different panels as described below.

Get more information about each panel at the links beneath the headers.

Touchless Mode

Learn more about touchless mode

Keep your event clean and healthy by enabling gesture controls on iPads running iOS 14 or later. Touchless mode will limit the availability of some features

Photo Design

Learn more about customizing your pictures

Use this panel to customize most aspects of how the pictures appear by default (participants can make edits later on if you choose to allow it).

A Chroma Key (green screen) panel is available further down the page.

App Colors and Backgrounds

Learn more about customizing your booth's appearance

All plans: Customize the color theme for the photo booth. This adjusts the font and background color throughout the experience. Use a hex code or our color picker.

Lite, Standard & Pro: Add a custom start and edit screen.

Camera & Countdown

Learn more about camera & countdown adjustments

Toggle between the front and rear camera.

Set up a "get ready" prompt and how long participants have to get ready for each frame.

Chroma Key

Learn more about Chroma Key

Transport participants anywhere by replacing the background of the pictures.

Chroma Key requires a physical green or blue screen.

Editing Tools

Learn more about editing tools

After taking their photos, participants have an opportunity to make edits to their photos if you choose to enable any edit tools.

Allow them to change the layout type, adjust the filter, add digital props, and more. Customize each tool to make the options more restricted or relevant to your event or activation.

Data Capture

Available on Standard and Pro plans

Learn more about data capture

Standard: Collect email address, phone number, first & last name, postal code, and date of birth.

Pro: The ability to add custom fields and legal terms in addition to what's included in Standard.

Age Gate

Available on Pro plan

Learn more about age gate

Ensure participants are of a certain age before using your booth.

Send Options

Learn more about sharing options from your booth

Decide how participants can send their picture to themselves. Custom messaging is available on certain plans.

Save Options

Learn more about where your pictures save

Photos will automatically sync to your Simple Booth account with an easy download option from your gallery settings pages.

Camera Roll and Dropbox are also available. In order to avoid saving in multiple locations and potentially slowing down your upload queue, we recommend leaving these off unless you have a special use case.


You are ready to finish customizing your gallery

Did this answer your question?